SEND & EHCP Tribunal Index
HomeWest Midlands › Coventry City Council

Coventry City Council

Data available

West Midlands

123
appeals registered, 2024 (official DfE figure)
128
appeals registered, 2025 (official DfE figure)
Data available. At least one Freedom of Information response gives real, extractable figures on tribunal appeals or outcomes for this council.
Thinking about appealing, or partway through it? These are free, independent sources of advice — not run by this site, and not run by any council.
  • Coventry SEND Information, Advice and Support Service — this council's own free SEND information, advice and support service. Every council is legally required to fund one, at arm's length from itself · 02476 694307.
  • IPSEA — Free, independent legal advice on SEN law — including EHC plans and tribunal appeals.
  • SOS!SEN — Free helpline and 1:1 advice specifically on preparing a SEND tribunal appeal.
  • Coram Children's Legal Centre — Free education law advice line, including SEN appeals and EHC plan reviews.
  • GOV.UK: appeal an EHC plan decision — The official government guide to the appeals process itself — who can appeal, mediation, costs.

Estimated outcome breakdown

Estimated, not reported
73.2%
18.1%
Resolved before hearing — 93 (73.2%) Contested, council lost — 23 (18.1%) Contested, council won — 6 (4.7%) Partially split — 5 (3.9%)

This council's own answer doesn't give a usable outcome breakdown. This estimate applies the pooled England-wide outcome rate (no regional sample was large enough to trust on its own) to this council's own real, officially-published appeal volume for 2025 (128 appeals) — see how estimates work.

By decision type

By decision type — 2022
Category (council's own wording)AppealsOverturned
refusal to assess appeals131
refusal to issue10
contents and placement appeals39

Freedom of Information responses

Successful
Requested by Lyndsay (Lyndsay Critchlow) on 2022-12-09 · answered 2023-01-24 · covers 2022 (year basis not specified by council)
Response to 'Send stats' (ref FOI471134636), all figures stated as being for the 2022 calendar year. 'How many refusal to assess appeals have been registered this year?' - 13. 'How many of these were upheld?' - One. 'How many refusal to issue have been registered this year?' - One. 'How many of these were upheld?' - Nil. 'How many contents and placement appeals have been registered this year?' - 39. 'How many of the parental preference for placement were named?' - 19. [Document also gives EHCP headcount/mainstream-vs-specialist-placement/EOTAS/no-placement figures for 2022, which are out of scope for this tribunal-focused extract and are omitted here.]
Caveat: Figures cover a single calendar year (2022) only, with no multi-year trend. Coventry did not specify what 'upheld' means from whose perspective (i.e. whether 'upheld' means the parent's appeal succeeded, or the Council's original refusal was upheld) -- taken at face value as stated in the letter.
Re-use terms stated by the council: "The supply of information in response to a FOI/EIR request does not confer an automatic right to re-use the information. You can use any information supplied for the purposes of private study and non-commercial research without requiring further permission. Similarly, information supplied can also be re-used for the purposes of news reporting. An exception to this is photographs. Please contact us if you wish to use the information for any other purpose."