SEND & EHCP Tribunal Index
HomeYorkshire and the Humber › Kirklees Council

Kirklees Council

Data available

Yorkshire and the Humber

91
appeals registered, 2024 (official DfE figure)
184
appeals registered, 2025 (official DfE figure)
Data available. At least one Freedom of Information response gives real, extractable figures on tribunal appeals or outcomes for this council.
Thinking about appealing, or partway through it? These are free, independent sources of advice — not run by this site, and not run by any council.
  • Calderdale & Kirklees SENDIASS (combined service) — this council's own free SEND information, advice and support service. Every council is legally required to fund one, at arm's length from itself · 0300 330 1504.
  • IPSEA — Free, independent legal advice on SEN law — including EHC plans and tribunal appeals.
  • SOS!SEN — Free helpline and 1:1 advice specifically on preparing a SEND tribunal appeal.
  • Coram Children's Legal Centre — Free education law advice line, including SEN appeals and EHC plan reviews.
  • GOV.UK: appeal an EHC plan decision — The official government guide to the appeals process itself — who can appeal, mediation, costs.

Estimated outcome breakdown

Estimated, not reported
72.3%
18.5%
Resolved before hearing — 133 (72.3%) Contested, council lost — 34 (18.5%) Contested, council won — 9 (4.9%) Partially split — 8 (4.3%)

This council's own answer doesn't give a usable outcome breakdown. This estimate applies the pooled England-wide outcome rate (no regional sample was large enough to trust on its own) to this council's own real, officially-published appeal volume for 2025 (184 appeals) — see how estimates work.

By decision type

By decision type — c.2022 ("this year" relative to the Dec 2022 request; exact calendar/academic year not specified)
Category (council's own wording)AppealsOverturned
Refusal to assess appeals registered this year102
Refusal to issue appeals registered this year20
Contents and placement appeals registered this year6

Freedom of Information responses

Successful
Requested by Lyndsay (Lyndsay Critchlow) on 2022-12-08 · answered 2023-06-08 · covers c.2022 (council answered as "this year" relative to the Dec 2022 request; exact calendar/academic year not specified)
"How many refusal to assess appeals have been registered this year? 10. How many of these were upheld? 2. How many refusal to issue have been registered this year? 2. How many of these were upheld? 0. How many contents and placement appeals have been registered this year? 6. How many of the parental preference for placement were named? 1."
Caveat: "Upheld" in Ministry of Justice/HMCTS usage (confirmed via a separate MoJ FOI response found during this research - see region-level notes) means an appeal found in favour of the PARENT, i.e. these are cases the council effectively lost/conceded, not won. Year is ambiguous (request made Dec 2022). A separate, more directly comparable "LBC REQUEST - FOI SEND provision" request from Fraser Knight to Kirklees (responded 2024-12-05) was refused specifically for the appeal-count/tribunal-outcome sub-questions under Section 12 cost exemption - only total SEND spend (£48m in 2019/20 rising to £74.9m in 2023/24) and total legal costs (£67,243.40) were disclosed in that request; no tribunal win/loss data was given there.